You are here
Home > 2017 NLWS Press Releases > NLWS Results for Wednesday August 16, 2017

NLWS Results for Wednesday August 16, 2017

WATERFORD, CT (8/16/2017): Tonight’s version of Wild -n- Wacky Wednesday was all about the fans. The evening started with a on track pi party so the fans can meet the drivers and see the cars up close. The midway had Full Power Radio broadcasting live and t features for tonight was extra distance affairs.

The first feature to hit the track was the July 12th make up X-Cars event, thirty-one cars strong took the green flag for the 25-lap event. It was Uncasville, CT’s Kyle Gero driving the Thames Electric #19CT shooting to the inside of CP Burdick with 6-laps remaining and grabbed his fourth win of the season. Rounding out the top-5 were Gero, Burdick, Wayne Shifflett, Will Rheaume and Jeremy Bourbeau.

Up next was the Bandoleros 20-lap feature. Zachary Martinez from N. Kingston, RI shot out from the outside pole position early to grab the lead. From this point Martinez was followed by Dominic Abbatiello and last week’s winner Tyler Alkas. The trio ran single file and pulled away from the rest of the field. Martinez was able to lead every lap and take down his third win of the season. Finishing out the top5 were Tyler Tomassi and Ethan Simmons. After the post-race inspection, it was found that Tomassi machine was DQ’d from the event and PJ Evans moved into the top-5.

The Super X-Cars took to the grid next for their longest event of the season being 35-laps. Tire management would be key being an extra lap affair and it was John Yagmin pacing himself early to grab the win. The Tolland, CT driver started tenth and carved his way through the field and over took Chris Taylor for the lead and the win. A scary crash between Bill Reiman and Gary Avery brought out the red flag as Avery slammed the driver’s side door of the Reiman machine. Reiman was able to get out of his car on his own power while Avery joined the field at the tail end for the restart. For Yagmin it was his first win of the year. Rounding out the top-5 were Yagmin, Don Berge (Point Leader), Raymond Reed, Keith Scalia and DennyLee Hoffman.

In the 35-lap Legends feature it was all Middletown, CT’s Joey Ternullo as he wasted no time showing the field that he was the man to beat. Ternullo started tenth on the field and just powered his way to the lead and the win. Last week Ternullo was involved in a lap-1 skirmish and almost didn’t have his Laticrete sponsored #10 ready for the nights action. Rounding out the top-5 were Ternullo, Michael Blaskey (who was put to the rear for contact earlier on with another driver), Peter Bennett, Jon Puleo and John O’Sullivan.

The last 35-lap event was for the X-Cars running their extra distance race. All eyes were on Kyle Gero as he was starting way back in the field in the thirtieth spot. After a couple of cautions waved to slow the event Gero had moved up to the twelfth spot after using the restarts to his advantage. The race was red-flagged as Waterford, CT’s Garrett Kuhn found himself on hos roof on the backstretch. On the restart Gero made his move into the top-5 and within a handful of laps was chasing down the leader Will Rheaume. The two drivers would battle side by side for a couple of laps. It wasn’t until Gero using the outside groove to his liking and grabbed the lead and held off the field for his second win of the night and fifth of the season.

Wild -n- Wacky Wednesday continues this coming week as with only four more events the points battle is heating up. Come join us every Wednesday for great racing.

X-Cars (25-lap) July 12 Makeup Race: Kyle Gero, CP Burdick, Wayne Shifflett, Will Rheaume, Jeremy Bourbeau, Andrew Lee, Mike Olsen, Christopher Lee, Steve Olsen, TJ Racicot, Chuck McDonald, Matthew Menders, Michele Cicio, Craig Tavernier, Timothy Bolger Jr, Kaylee Symonds, Garrett Kuhn, Matt Westover, Christopher Strickland, Josh Piper, Eddie Loomis, Donald Spencer, David Grengs, Tyler Almeida, Dylan Decoster, Bill Rheaume, Bruce Sperry, Dylan Cabral, Gregg Sajkowicz, Raymond Herman Sr, William Lauber

Bandoleros (20-laps): Zachary Martinez, Dominic Abbatiello, Tyler Alkas, Ethan Simmons, PJ Evans, Ari Jencik, Maddie Harkin, Emma Monahan, Andrew Morin, Tyler Barry, Nicholas Hovey, Brody Monahan, Connor Jencik, Anthony Bevilacqua, Evelyn Simmons

Super X-Cars (35-laps): John Yagmin, Donald Berge, Raymond Reed, Keith Scalia, DennyLee Hoffman, Marc Shafer, Gary Avery Jr, Jason Larivee Jr, Jeremy Washburn, Chris Taylor, William Reiman, Keith Brown, Dan Butler

Legends (35-laps): Joey Ternullo, Michael Blaskey, Peter Bennett, Jon Puleo, John O’Sullivan, Carlo Blandina, Brandon Martinez, Colin Haley, Art Marrero, Devon Jencik, John Kraft III, Brandon Hammann, David Shindler, Joey Lembo, Tim Depizzol, David Lespinasse, Anthony Marvin, Adam Avedisian

X-Cars (35-laps): Kyle Gero, Will Rheaume, Christopher Lee, Wayne Shifflett, CP Burdick, Dylan Decoster, TJ Racicot, Steven Olsen, Jeremy Bourbeau, Craig Tavernier, Dylan Cabral, Matt Westover, Michele Cicio, Matthew Menders, Eddie Loomis, Kaylee Symonds, Tyler Almeida, Josh Piper, Christopher Strickland, Chuck McDonald, Andrew Lee, Timothy Bolger Jr, Donald Spence Jr, Mike Olsen, Garrett Kuhn, Bruce Sperry, Raymond Herman Sr, Gregg Sajkowicz, William Lauber, David Grengs, Bill Rheaume

Similar Articles